Social protection for climate-induced loss and damage: priority areas for increasing capacity and investment in developing countries

Aleksandrova, Mariya / Sayanti Sengupta / Teresa Anderson / Cecilia Costella / Harjeet Singh / Harpreet Paul
External Publications (2021)

Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre (RCCC)

Volltext/Full text

The Technical Expert Group on Comprehensive Risk Management (TEG-CRM) – established in 2019 under the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage associated with Climate Change Impacts (WIM) – developed its Plan of Action (PoA) as an essential element of a five-year rolling workplan of the Executive Committee of the WIM. The PoA supports the implementation of activities under strategic workstream (c) on enhanced cooperation and facilitation in relation to comprehensive risk management approaches. Both workplans acknowledge social protection as a distinct risk management instrument. This briefing paper supports the implementation of the TEG-CRM PoA and the workplan of the Executive Committee of the WIM. Its objectives are to highlight policy gaps on using social protection to support loss and damage action (at the national level), and to define key capacity-building needs in developing countries. The brief further seeks to: i) recommend priorities for strengthening national social protection systems with the view to minimizing, averting and addressing residual loss and damage associated with climate extremes and slow onset changes; and ii) inform the future work on social protection by the TEG-CRM and, more broadly, that of the thematic expert groups established under the WIM.

About the author

Aleksandrova, Mariya

Climate risk governance


Further experts

Balasubramanian, Pooja

Social Economics 

Bauer, Steffen

Political scientist 

Beck, Tanja

Political Science 

Brandi, Clara

Economy and Political Science 

Burchi, Francesco

Development Economy 

Dippel, Beatrice


Ekoh, Susan S.

Environmental Research 

Hägele, Ramona

Political Scientist 

Iacobuta, Gabriela

Climate and sustainable development policy 

Lehmann, Ina

Political Science 

Loewe, Markus


Malerba, Daniele


Mathis, Okka Lou

Political Scientist 

Never, Babette

Political Scientist 

Pegels, Anna


Ruppel, Samantha

Political Science 

Srigiri, Srinivasa Reddy

Agricultural Economist 

Strupat, Christoph